Membership renewals open for 2024 - Click here

NExUS: Geological Interpretation of Aeromagnetic Data –a Practical Approach

Event Type

Event Date

Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Event Location

Event Address

Online course

Event Start


Event End


Event Details

NExUS-Professional Development (NExUS-PD) workshops are very proud to to be able to present this highly regarded workshop online for the very first time.

The specially designed two-day online workshop will introduce the fundamentals of geological interpretation of aeromagnetic data.

The workshop will feature lectures, practical activities and case studies all using integrated data sets.


Each day will feature 3 x 2hr sessions with exercises to be completed between the sessions and time allocated for extended discussions. 

The format aims for open, transparent communication, with input from participants highly encouraged to share knowledge and experiences.

Note: This is a level-4 course (honours level) and is designed to be suitable for early career geoscientists, honours students and HDR students. The workshop is not assessed.


Day 1 (Tue, 30th Mar): Methodology of Aeromagnetic Interpretation – Presented by David Isles 

Day 2 (Wed, 31st Mar): Geological Interpretation and Structure – Presented by Leigh Rankin 

Cancellation and Refund T&C: Refunds will be given if notice of non-attendance is received prior to 3 days of the course start date or in the event the course is cancelled.

For further information view the flyer here or contact Richard Lilly: 


Register here.


We would like to remind members that the ASEG are offering full fee paid scholarships to attend the NExUS Course, Geological Interpretation of Aeromagnetic Data. The ASEG will fund registrations for two full and one student registration. Preference will be given to members earlier in their career. 

To apply for the scholarship, ensure your ASEG membership is current, and send an email to outlining in 100 words or less how this would benefit you. Applications close 10 March, successful scholarship recipients will be announced Friday 19 March.