Membership renewals open for 2024 - Click here

Final Call to nominate a colleague for an ASEG Honour or Award for 2021



Final Call to nominate a colleague for an ASEG Honour or Award for 2021


The ASEG acknowledges the outstanding contributions of its individual members both to the profession of geophysics and to the ASEG, through the presentation of the Society’s Honours and Awards across a range of categories. The next Awards are scheduled to be presented in conjunction with AEGC 2021, 15-20 September 2021, Brisbane, Australia.


All ASEG members as well as State and Federal executives are invited to nominate those they consider deserving of these awards. The available awards are:


  • ASEG Gold Medal

For exceptional and highly significant distinguished contributions to the science and practice of geophysics, resulting in wide recognition within the geoscientific community.


  • Honorary Membership

For distinguished contributions by a member to the profession of exploration geophysics and to the ASEG over many years.


  • Grahame Sands Award

For innovation in applied geophysics through a significant practical development in the field of instrumentation, data acquisition, interpretation or theory.


  • Lindsay Ingall Memorial Award

For the promotion of geophysics to the wider community.


  • Early Achievement Award

For significant contributions to the profession by a member under 36 years of age, through publications in Exploration Geophysics or similar reputable journals, or overall contributions to geophysics, ASEG Branch activities, committees, or events.


  • ASEG Service Awards

For distinguished contributions by a member over many years to ASEG Branch activities, Federal or State committees, publications, conferences, or other society activities.


ASEG members are eligible for all award categories. Non-members also are eligible for the Lindsay Ingall and Grahame Sands awards.  Under exceptional circumstances, the other awards may be offered to a non-member of the ASEG who has given appropriate service to the ASEG or to the profession of geoscience, and who has been duly nominated by the Federal Executive.


Nomination Procedure

Any member of the Society may submit nominations for an award. These nominations are to be supported by a seconder, and in the case of the Lindsay Ingall Memorial Award by at least four geoscientists who are members of an Australian geoscience body (e.g. ASEG, GSA, AusIMM, AIG, PESA, or similar).


The awards carry considerable prestige within the ASEG and the geoscience profession. Therefore appropriate documentation is required to support each nomination. Nominations must be specific to a particular award and all aspects of the defined criteria should be addressed.


Further details of the award categories, lists of previous awardees and citations for recent awards, award criteria, nomination guidelines and nomination forms can be found on the ASEG website at:


Further information can be obtained by contacting the Chairman of the Honours and Awards Committee. All correspondence and nominations will be treated confidentially.


Nominations including digital copies of all relevant supporting documentation are to be emailed to:


Nominations close Friday 30 July 2021.


Andrew Mutton

Chairman, ASEG Honours and Awards Committee

News Category: