Membership renewals open for 2024 - Click here

AGC Awards and Grants

The AGC offers a range of grants as detailed below:

Roy Woodall Medal

This intention of this award is to recognise those individuals that seek to emulate Roy's contribution to the mineral industry by applying the best science to the endeavours of mineral exploration and the documentation of world-class mineral deposits. The goal of this is to encourage the ethos of scientific excellence that Roy was such a strong advocate for.

Applications close November 30

National Geoscience Champion

The award is modelled on the concept of a Hall Of Fame for geoscientists who are not otherwise recognised (yet) as National Living Treasures. This honour will be bestowed on very few Geoscientists and will recognise lifetime contributions to our science, craft and art, evidenced by technical, leadership, mentoring and collegial endeavours.

No closing date - applications reviewed on receipt

34th IGC Travel Grant Scheme

This grant is to support Early Career Geoscientists, who are a member of one of AGC's Member Organisations, in travelling overseas to a recognised event in order to further their journey in Geoscience

Applications close at the end of September each year

Australian Geoscience Council Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scholarship

This scholarship will financially support a student in completing a degree in Geoscience

Applications close at the end of September each year


The Grant will provide financial assistance for projects that have one or more of the following objectives:

  • Research that explores the potential for the further development of Geoscience information & data management in Australia
  • Knowledge sharing that increases the understanding of Geoscience information & data management in Australia, through publications, conference presentations or other professionally recognised methods
  • Development of tools, applications, and resources for use in Geoscience information & data management in Australia

Applications close on the 18th of November each year.