b'Executive briefASEG newsFederal Executive: DrMarina PervukhinaOur last farewell is to Dr Jim Austin,The ASEG, in line with its aims and the (Professional Development Committeewho oversaw the Conference Advisoryactivities defined in the Constitution, has Chair Dr Mark Duffett (TechnicalCommittee. Thank you to Jim for hisadopted several aspirational strategic Standards Committee representative),efforts over the past 12 months. Jims rolegoals for 20182023 to ensure that the Ian James (Web Committee Chair) andwill be assumed by David Annetts for theSociety retains vitality and relevance Dr Tim Dean (Education Committeecurrent year. in an exploration industry that is Chair). Thank you for your effortscontinually changing. During 2019 and over the last 12 months, efforts thatThe day after the AGM is usually followed2020 so far, the ASEG Federal Executive have also contributed to the Societysby a strategy day where the Federalhas continued to progress these strategic successful year. Executive, editors and representativesgoals in the following ways:from the Secretariat, The Association This year we welcome Dr Yvette PoudjomSpecialists (TAS), meet to discuss theContinuing community engagement Djomani (State Branches representative),short- and long-term issues facing thewith webinars during the COVID-19 Suzanne Haydon (MembershipSociety. The 2020 strategy day waspandemic in a time when face-to-face Committee Chair) and Millicent Crowecancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions,meetings were unavailable. This has (Communications Committee Chair) tobut the Federal Executive is committedmade monthly state meetings available the Federal Executive. Photos and shortto the continued improvement of ourto the entire geophysical and wider biographies of these new members willSociety and will continue to discuss thesecommunity, and the Federal Executive appear in the next issue of Preview. issues at their monthly meetings. has agreed this would be beneficial beyond the current crisis. Webinars and With huge thanks and appreciation, weThe mission of the Society is to providepresentation recordings will be made farewell past President Marina Costelloe,an environment for the science of appliedavailable on the ASEG website and on who steps down from the Federalgeophysics to grow for the benefit of itsour YouTube Channel.Executive. Marina has made enormousMembers and the wider community. OurIncreasing our online presence contributions to the ASEG in her sixaims are: including social media posting on years on the committee, and we wouldLinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter, and like to extend a huge thank you to herto promote the science of geophysics, and specifically exploration geophysics,the ASEG monthly newsletter.for her contribution; she will be sadlyImprove interaction with our missed. throughout Australiato foster fellowship and co-operationinternational MembersThis year we saw the resignation ofbetween geophysicists The Federal Executive would like to thank Megan Nightingale who has made a hugeto encourage closer understandingTAS for organizing and facilitating the contribution as Federal Secretary andand co-operation with other earth2020 AGM.with the Young Professionals Network. Wescientistswould like to extend an enormous thankto assist in design and teaching ofLeslie Atkinson you to Megan for her contribution overcourses in geophysics and to sponsorASEG Secretary her three years on the committee. student sections where appropriate fedsec@aseg.org.auWelcome to new MembersThe ASEG extends a warm welcome to four new Members approved by the Federal Executive at its April and May meetings (see Table).First name Last name Organisation State Country Membership typeMazifi Adamu Federal university Lafia Plateau Nigeria StudentNelson Kuna CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere TAS Australia ActiveAnna Petts Department for Energy and Mining SA Australia ActiveGrace Smith The university of Adelaide SA Australia Student5 PREVIEW JuNE 2020'