ASEG Research Foundation: Celebrating three decades and calling for grant applications This year the ASEG Research Foundation (ASEG RF) celebrates an important milestone – for three decades it has been promoting Australian research and training in applied geophysics through research grants to worthy projects at the BSc (Honours), MSc and PhD levels (or equivalent). The ASEG RF formally commenced its function in September 1989, with the first projects supported in 1991. It was established to address the decline, at that time, in student enrolments in exploration geophysics. The underpinning goal for the Research Foundation has remained the same over three decades –“to attract high-calibre students into exploration geophysics, and thus to ensure a future supply of talented, highly skilled geophysicists for industry”. Bob Smith presented a passionate and compelling case to the ASEG in the late 1980s, which led to the establishment of the Foundation in 1989 with Bob as the inaugural chair. Peter Priest was the first and only treasurer, and continues to support the ASEG Research Foundation today. Many prominent members of the industry and academia have supported the Foundation over the years. Currently Phillip Harman as Chair, and Doug Roberts as Secretary, manage the Foundation with a committee of 19 senior ASEG Members. ASEG Members from mining and petroleum areas, as well as from academia, serve on an honorary basis on the ASEG Research Foundation Committee. All administrative costs are borne by the committee members and no ASEG Research Foundation funds are used for operating expenses. The number of concurrent Research Foundation supported projects has grown steadily over the period as shown in Figure 1. More than 130 successful geophysical research project recipients of ASEG RF grants over the period cover petroleum, mineral, engineering, environmental and groundwater disciplines, with the majority of grants awarded to worthy BSc (Hons) and PhD (or equivalent) based projects (Figure 2). ASEG Members can view a full listing of the successful Research Foundation projects covering the period 1991–2018 at sponsored-projects. The ASEG RF is funded in two ways. Funds are made available from the ASEG both directly and from corporate and Member contributors. Funds can also be donated directly by anybody. Members of the ASEG are encouraged to donate when they pay their subscriptions each year. Donations of $2.00 and over are tax deductible at 100% of the donation amount. We encourage all geophysics students and their partner researchers to consider applying for the 2019 round of ASEG Research Foundation grants. The call for applications is open until 28 February and full details and links to application documents can be found at https://www. For further information, contact Doug Roberts, Secretary ASEG Research Foundation Ted Tyne Figure 1.  Concurrent ASEG Research Foundation supported projects from 1991 to 2017. Figure 2.  ASEG RF grants by field and by degree type. 6 PREVIEW FEBRUARY 2019 ASEG news Committees