Ted Tyne Honorary Membership of the ASEG

Brisbane March 2023



CITATION:

The Award of ASEG Honorary Membership has been conferred upon Dr Ted Tyne, in recognition of his significant and distinguished contributions to the geophysics profession, and especially to the ASEG, through his outstanding support and contributions over 50 years, including his distinguished leadership of Federal Executive committees, conferences and publications.

Ted is well known to many ASEG members having been an active member and great supporter of the Society since 1971, and most recently as the ASEG President in 2019/2020 during the ASEG's 50th Anniversary.

Ted is a graduate of the University of New South Wales (UNSW) with a Bachelor of Science (1971) and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Geophysics (1973). He was awarded a PhD (UNSW 1987) for his research in borehole electrical geophysics, a collaborative project of the NSW Geological Survey (GSNSW) and the Australian Mineral Industries Research Association (AMIRA). He is also a graduate of the NSW Government Premier's Senior Executive Development Programme (2001).

Ted joined GSNSW as a Geophysicist in 1971, with a focus on field investigations and research in electrical and electromagnetic exploration geophysics. He also took on a parallel role as Lecturer in Geophysics UNSW (1984-86) during his final PhD research. Ted was appointed Principal Geophysicist in 1988 and led the Geophysics Branch in GSNSW until 1993 when he joined CGG Geoterrex in Sydney to manage the airborne geophysics data processing and interpretation teams. Ted moved to Encom Technology in Sydney in1997 as Manager, Business Development.

In 1999 Ted re-joined GSNSW as Assistant Director Regional Geology and Geophysics and in 2002, he was appointed Director GSNSW and Chief Government Geologist. In 2005, Ted decided to take on new opportunities, moving to Adelaide to join the Government of South Australia to head up the Mineral Resources Division in Primary Industries & Resources SA. He was responsible for leading the full range of government mineral services across the State, a position he enjoyed enormously until his retirement in 2017.

Over a 50-year career, Ted has been a leading supporter of the Australian exploration industry and a prominent champion of innovation and practice in exploration geophysics and exploration geoscience technologies. He has also been a proactive leader and strong advocate for investment in state and national government exploration initiatives, mineral and energy resource development programs and next-generation public geoscience mapping coverages.

He is widely known as a successful multi-disciplinary collaborator in his initiatives and achievements across Australia and internationally in exploration geoscience mapping, airborne, ground and borehole exploration geophysics, and in leading major government exploration geoscience and investment attraction programs, geoscience education and training, and collaborative industry research and mining development programs.

Ted is well known for his high-level leadership of State Government exploration initiatives, including the NSW Government Discovery 2000 and Exploration NSW initiatives and the internationally recognised South Australian Plan for Accelerating Exploration (PACE) which received the SA Premier's Award for Economic Prosperity in 2007. Ted also had a lead role in establishing Adelaide's state-of-the-art South Australia Drill Core Reference Library and Geoscience Centre which opened in 2016.

In the final phase of his 12-year stint as head of Mineral Resources in the Government of South Australia, Ted championed the concept, funding proposal and foundational planning for the PACE Copper initiative. With the support of his Minister and teams from the South Australian Mineral Resources and Geoscience Australia, Ted instigated the development of the largest government airborne exploration geophysics survey ever undertaken in Australia—the South Australian Gawler Craton Magnetic and Radiometric Airborne Survey (2016–2021), which comprised 1.6 million line-km of data acquisition at 200 m line spacing.

Ted's initiatives and contributions to Australia's state and national public precompetitive exploration geoscience data and mapping coverages have resulted in the acquisition of more than 3.5 million line-km of airborne survey data as well as extensive ground-based and helicopter-supported regional gravity and other exploration surveying programs.

During his seven years in industry with CGG Geoterrex and Encom Technology, Ted was actively involved at operational and leadership levels in large-scale international airborne geophysical projects for government and industry. This included a leading role in the 1996–1998 airborne magnetic survey and geological mapping interpretation project in northwest Botswana (a 300,000 line-km survey), supported by the Botswana and Canadian Governments.

Ted has contributed to and been actively involved in the ASEG for over five decades. He has supported and presented at many ASEG Conferences, specialist workshops, State Branch technical meetings and education and training programs. He has held numerous roles on State and Federal Executive Committees, Conference Organising Committees and Standing Committees.

He was a member of the Federal Executive from 1978-1980, co-convenor of the 1st ASEG Conference & Exhibition in Adelaide in 1979, compiled the 1st ASEG Directory of Australian Geophysical Services, co-Chair of the Technical Program Committee for the 8th ASEG Conference and Exhibition in Sydney in 1991, including Guest Editor with Keeva Vozoff, for the Conference issue of *Exploration Geophysics*. In 2018, Ted again joined the Federal Executive Committee as an ASEG Director and ASEG President-Elect, as well as Co-Chair of the ASEG Publications Committee. As Co-Chair with Danny Burns, he negotiated new publishing contracts for *Exploration Geophysics* and *Preview*, leading to considerable cost savings and increased exposure for ASEG publications.

Ted was elected ASEG President in April 2019. This was the beginning of an exceptional period of leadership of the ASEG. His tenure as President included the society's 50th Anniversary celebrations in 2020 and, despite the challenges posed by COVID-19 restrictions and lockdowns, Ted championed several special events and activities that showcased the Society. During this time he was also ASEG representative to the Australian Geoscience Council, SEG Council and Co-Chair ASEG Publications Committee. In 2020, working closely with the Executive, he undertook a comprehensive rewrite and update of the ASEG Operations and Procedures Manual. He continued as Co-Chair and then Chair of the ASEG Publications Committee through to 2022, at which time he stepped down from the Executive, but remains on the ASEG Publications and History Committees.

Ted has received many accolades over the years for his service to the profession and the ASEG. He has received awards for Best Presentations at the 1985 and 1997 ASEG conference, and the Laric Hawkins Award in 1995. In 2000, he received an ASEG Service Certificate for his distinguished contributions to the Society.

Ted has used his time in numerous high-profile positions in government and in the ASEG to great effect in promoting exploration geophysics, fostering collaboration between industry and government, and facilitating cooperation amongst geophysicists and other Earth scientists. Ted is a champion for equity, diversity and inclusion and has selflessly devoted his time to encouraging and mentoring younger scientists to advance their career in geophysics, and actively contribute to the ASEG.

It is very fitting that the ASEG now recognises Ted's outstanding and distinguished contributions over many years to the profession, and to the ASEG, with the award of Honorary Membership of the ASEG.