Kate Brand

ASEG Distinguished Service Medal

Brisbane March 2023



CITATION:

The ASEG Distinguished Service Medal is awarded to a member who has given outstanding and distinguished service to the ASEG over many years. The recipient in 2023 is Kate Brand, in recognition of her outstanding and distinguished service to the ASEG as a Board Director and through her contributions to State Branch committees, the Federal Executive Committee and for improving the way the ASEG conducts business. As President Elect in 2020 and as President in 2021, with the support of the ASEG Federal Executive, Kate demonstrated legendary service and leadership in guiding our Society through a period of significant business and technical transformation, transitioning the ASEG's face-to-face monthly meetings to a new era of online meetings and webinars, available to all ASEG Members impacted by the 2019-2021 national pandemic lockdowns.

Kate completed a Bachelor of Science from the University of Adelaide in 2011 majoring in Physics and Geophysics, and First Class Honours in Geophysics in 2012 with a thesis on "An Electrical Resistivity Model of the Southeast Australian Lithosphere and Asthenosphere". Kate earned her PhD in Geophysics from the University of Adelaide in 2016, with a Dean's Commendation for her Doctoral Thesis Excellence for her thesis on "Electrical resistivity structure of the southeast Australian lithosphere".

Kate joined the Geological Survey of South Australia, Department for Energy and Mining, in Adelaide in 2016 taking on the role of Senior Geophysicist where she worked on developing 3D resistivity models of the South Australian lithosphere using magnetotelluric data. In 2022, she joined the Bureau of Meteorology as the Operations Manager – Australian Space Weather Forecasting Centre (ASWFC), where her role is to prepare space weather forecasts and warnings to help ensure impacted industries are prepared.

Kate is currently a Science and Technology Superstars of STEM. Superstars of STEM is a game-changing Australian initiative to smash gender assumptions about who can work in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. This role represents a fantastic platform for Kate to continue her Earth Science advocacy to a national audience.

Kate joined the ASEG in 2013 and has been an active and supportive member and a strong contributor to the leadership of the Society throughout her career. Kate served as SA-NT Branch President from 2018-2020, and as ASEG President Elect in 2020, President in 2021 and is currently the immediate Past President. Kate has been a Director of the ASEG for 3 years.

Kate was the Communications Committee Chair from 2018 to 2020 and has been Chair of the Professional Development Committee since 2021, organising education and training courses, and advocating for and organising the inaugural and very successful geophysics Camp for Applied Geophysics Excellence (CAGE) in 2022 to address the national decline in formal geophysics education at Universities. Kate represented the ASEG at AGU in the Diversity stream and presented a paper/poster, represented the ASEG on the Australian Geoscience Council 2021-2022, and represented the ASEG on the SEG Council 2021-2022.

Kate's contribution to the Society during the pandemic has now improved and strengthened the ASEG meetings/presentations process, engaging all Members across all Branches with a secure and practical webinar meeting model as well as the traditional face-to-face practice. Her efforts also helped deliver an open access YouTube library of world-class ASEG video presentations on the latest in exploration geophysics.

Kate has also published widely on her specialist MT work, and has presented papers at many national and international conferences, including invitations to present keynote addresses in Australia and internationally.

Kate has been an exemplary role model for members seeking to augment their careers with voluntary service to their profession. It is most fitting that Kate's outstanding contributions to the ASEG are now recognised with the award of the ASEG Distinguished Service Medal.