## **Shaun Strong**

## Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award Sydney February 2018

## **CITATION**

The Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award, inaugurated in 2013, is presented for the best paper published by a Student Member in *Exploration Geophysics* in the period prior to each ASEG Conference.

The award is named in memory of the late Dr Shanti Rajagopalan, who passed away in 2010 at the prime of her career. Shanti was one of the best known and respected members of the ASEG, and was well known for her outstanding contributions to the geophysical profession.

Shanti was also a major contributor to the ASEG. She was a great supporter of her local branch, served as Victorian branch President, and was actively involved in the organisation of ASEG conferences in Hobart and Melbourne. She was also Editor of *Exploration Geophysics* in 2000 and 2001.

But it is most noteworthy in the context of this award that, in 1987, as a student member, Shanti received the inaugural Laric Hawkins Award for the most innovative use of a geophysical technique from a paper presented at the ASEG Conference. It is therefore very appropriate that an award to encourage technical excellence by our Student Members is named in honour of Shanti.

The winner and recipient of the Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award for 2018 is Shaun Strong, for his paper co-authored with Steve Hearn entitled "Statics correction methods for 3D converted-wave seismic reflection". The paper was published in *Exploration Geophysics*, Vol 48, pp 237–245.

Shaun completed his PhD at Queensland University in December 2016. He is currently working for Velseis in Brisbane as a Geophysicist with responsibilities in both the research and acquisition departments.