## Camilla Sørensen Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award Adelaide August 2016

## Citation

The Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award, inaugurated in 2013, is presented for the best paper published by a Student Member in *Exploration Geophysics* in the period prior to each ASEG Conference.

The award is named in memory of the late Dr Shanti Rajagopalan, who passed away in 2010. Shanti was one of the best known and respected members of the ASEG, and was well known within the geophysical profession for her outstanding contributions and service to the profession, and to the ASEG.

Shanti was a major contributor to the ASEG in many ways. She was Victorian branch President, and was actively involved in the organisation of ASEG conferences in Hobart and Melbourne. She was also Managing Editor of *Exploration Geophysics* in 2000 and 2001.

But it is most noteworthy in the context of this award that, in 1987, as a student member, Shanti received the inaugural Laric Hawkins Award for the most innovative use of a geophysical technique from a paper presented at the ASEG Conference. It is therefore very appropriate that an award to encourage technical excellence by our Student Members is named in honour of Shanti.

The winner and recipient of the Shanti Rajagopalan Memorial Award for 2016 is Camilla Sørensen, for her paper co-authored with Tim Munday and Graham Heinson entitled "Integrated interpretation of overlapping AEM datasets achieved through standardisation". The paper was published in *Exploration Geophysics*, 46, 309-319.

Camilla has been completing a PhD at the University of Adelaide on Airborne Electromagnetic methods, specifically working on improving the conductivity-depth information that can be extracted from historical AEM datasets. She expects to complete her PhD during the latter half of 2016. She is currently working at CSIRO in Perth as a research scientist.