## Michael Asten Honorary Membership of the ASEG Melbourne - August 2013

## CITATION

Honorary Membership of the ASEG, for distinguished contributions by a member to the Society and the profession over many years, has been awarded to Michael Asten. Michael is well known to most members of the ASEG through his professional and research work, and his contributions to the ASEG for over 20 years, in particular for his work on the Federal Executive and ASEG Publications.

Michael is currently Professor (Research) in the School of Geosciences at Monash University, and Consultant with Flagstaff Geoconsultants, prominent both in academia and the industry. He is a graduate of University of Tasmania, and received PhD from Macquarie University. His past positions include Lecturer in a university in Nigeria and Senior Principal Geophysicist BHP.

Mike's interest in geophysics is broad. His expertise includes potential fields, electric, magnetic, electromagnetic and passive seismic methods. He is a regular presenter at ASEG conferences, in which he was awarded the Laric Hawkins Award for most innovative paper on two occasions.

Mike's service to ASEG is extensive. The list includes:

- Technical Co-Chairman of 1989 ASEG conference in Melbourne;
- ASEG Federal Executive 1992-1995; as Vice President during this time, he took the role of Publication Chairman;
- Co-Chair of 1998 ASEG conference in Hobart;
- Sponsorship Chairman for the 2006 Conference in Melbourne
- ASEG Federal Exec 2008-2013, including a term as President 2009-10;
- Technical chairman for the 2013 Conference in Melbourne.

Mike has been an Associate Editor of SEG's journal *Geophysics* for a number of years, and served as the volume editor of SEG's Monograph 12, "The Microtremor Survey Method". More recently he assisted with the joint SEG-ASEG publication of Isles-Rankin publication *Geological Interpretation of Aeromagnetic Data*.

During his second period on the Federal Executive, Mike continued working on publications and liaison with our partner societies. He negotiated with SEG for digital cumulative index and internet access to papers in *Exploration Geophysics*, and was instrumental in initiating the joint publication of the journal with SEG Japan and Korean SEG. He has been a driving force in establishing *Exploration Geophysics* as an internationally recognised journal with a steadily increasingly impact factor.

For his long-standing contributions to and achievements in research and practice of geophysics and the long-term commitment to ASEG, Mike is a most worthy and distinguished recipient of Honorary Membership of the ASEG.